Those of you who know me personally, know about my Kate Spade obsession. I’m writing on a laptop that I carry in a Kate Spade bag. My Kate Spade wallet is tucked into that same bag. My phone screen has Kate Spade wallpaper. When I get on a plane back to the U.S., I’ll be checking in with my passport in a Kate Spade cover and carrying a Kate Spade carryon bag.

I’m a fan. A big fan. I am sorry to hear the news that she died today. While I didn’t know her personally, I feel like I’ve lost a friend – a fun, quirky, super smart friend. A friend who has been with me for more than 23 years.

My Kate Spade love started in late 1994 or early 1995 when Dean and I were first married. Dean came home from work one day with a designer purse for me – my first Kate Spade bag. I LOVED it immediately. I still have it. In fact, I have dragged every Kate Spade bag, clutch, wallet, book, etc. I own to Panama (and now on their way back to the U.S.). I know many women buy designer purses, use them and resell on EBay or wherever to help offset the cost of designer goods with designer price tags. I just can’t. They are reminders of milestones, adventures, everyday memories. The only bag I don’t have is the one that was stolen from my car when Jack was very little. I’m still bitter and miss it – black with a hot pink lining. It was beautiful.

Kate Spade was designer quality with a great deal of fun. Funky designs and patterns that were classics without forgetting that women are multifaceted.

She was my age. Her designs and lines grew as my life grew. From the fun little Sam purse to the many purses, bags, clothing, and household items now offered. Just like a woman grows from her 20s to her 50s with life expanding along the way.

My heart hurts for her and her family. She leaves a daughter just a bit younger than Neil, and her husband behind. I can’t guess the reasons. I can only miss the friend.

Leave a comment